Ginger Bread

 

This recipe has been in the family for so long…well, long before me ’cause I remember this when I was young.  You know, as profound as it may seem, family recipes are usually long treasured because they are just plain ol’ good

That’s the case with this little gem.

 

Here are the ingredients you need.

 

Beat the egg, I just use my hand mixer for this recipe.  It’s easier than cleaning up the Kitchen Aid or the DeLonghi…yes!  I have 3 mixers!  Besides, it would get lost in the DeLonghi mixer.  That baby is huge!

 

Cream in the sugar, melted shortening and molasses

…unless you are like me and use pancake syrup

Why syrup? 

Its flavor is a little lighter and this is the way my Mother makes it!

It’s my favorite way.

 

Sift your dry ingredients twice.  I know, it’s a pain in the butt

but you don’t want any tiny little lumps in this yumminess.

 

 

Mix the dry ingredients into the egg and sugar mixture.  It will get really stiff here.

 That’s when you add the boiling water and mix well. 

 

This Baker’s Joy stuff is one of my best friends in the kitchen when I’m baking.  No more greasing and flouring…such a mess it was!

 

 Pour into an 8×8 pan that has been greased and floured ~ or sprayed with Baker’s Joy. 

I really like to use my glass pan for this recipe. 

(If you use Pyrex, make sure it was made in the US and not China. 

There seems to be a breakage problem with the ones in China

while they are in the oven.  You can google it.)

 

Oh!  I hope you never see me put glass in the oven without having a pan under it!

If I do, the next picture you will see will be of me crying like a baby!

 

My favorite way to eat this is hot out of the oven!  Have the real butter handy and slather it down on the inside and the top.  I know some of you will want whipped cream but I’ll save that for a my fruit salad.

Old Fashioned Ginger Bread

1 egg

1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/3 cup molasses (I use pancake syrup)

1/3 cup shortening or oil melted (same as 5 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon)

1 1/8 cups flour (same as 1 cup + 2 tablespoons)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon, ground

1 teaspoon ginger, ground

1/2 teaspoon cloves, ground

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, ground

1/2 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Beat the egg.  Add the brown sugar, molasses and melted shortening; cream. 

Combine the dry ingredients and sift twice; add to egg and sugar mixture.  Mix well.  Add hot water and mix well.

Pour into an 8×8 greased and floured pan. 

Bake at 350°F. for about 25 minutes.  The sides of the ginger bread will pull away from the pan and when a toothpick is inserted, it will come out clean.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tes
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:00:46

    Yummm this really makes me wanna bake! I love this recipe. Can’t wait to try it.

  2. sassycondiments
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 10:05:41

    Tes, thank you and I hope you and your family enjoy.

Leave a Reply

SassyCondiments

June 2010
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
