National Onion Ring Day

In honor of National Onion Ring Day yesterday,

I just absolutely had to have onion rings.  Normally, I make a huge mess in the kitchen when making onion rings.  Well, I had a recipe that I had been meaning to try for quite some time.

Using the method described below, I had very little mess to clean up last night and they were really different from my traditional recipe.  I have to admit, they were also very good…just different.  As I was eating dinner and trying to decide whether or not, or how much I liked them, I managed to almost forget about my bratwurst that was on my plate.  Why?  Because I was so busy shoveling them in my mouth.  Conclusion:  they must have been good!

Onion Rings

1 large onion, cut into 1/2″ – 3/4″ rings

1 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup milk

1 cup Panko bread crumbs

herbs or seasoned salt to taste

1 – 1 gallon zip seal bag

Oil for deep-frying

Heat oil in deep fryer or pan to 375°F.

Slice the onion and set aside. 

Add flour, baking powder and salt to the 1 gallon bag.  Seal and shake ingredients to blend.

Place a few onion rings in the bag and shake.  Set aside.  Repeat until all rings of onion have a good flour coating.

Add the milk and egg to the bag.  Seal and squeeze until the batter is well mixed.

Using a few of the flour coated onion rings at a time, place them in the bag and coat well.  Lay on a wire rack to drain.  (Be sure to use wax paper or foil under the rack for easy clean up.  The alternative I use is to hang onion rings on skewers and lay the skewers across the top of a bowl that is deeper than the rings.)

After excess batter has dripped from the onion rings, place a few of the rings in a larger bowl with the Panko bread crumbs, one with a lid that seals well.  Shake.  Remove from the bowl and place in the hot oil.  Fry until medium golden brown.  Place on paper towel to drain.  Repeat process until all onion rings are cooked.

Leave a Reply

SassyCondiments

June 2010
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
