Fixin’ To

hmmmmm…sometimes I think my husband is married to me for the amusement factor.  He was born in California.  Not me!  I’m a born and raised Texan. 

Let me give you a little background here.  My Daddy is Texan and my mother was born in Oklahoma.  My mother would probably croak die to hear me say this but I always thought of our family as Green Acres, a TV show in the 60’s.  We didn’t live in the country and my mother didn’t have to climb a telephone pole in her negligee to make a phone call.  And absolutely not…we did not have Arnold the pig for a pet.  That’s not what I mean.  My Daddy was raised in a farming family and my Mother is very sophisticated.

Back to my Mr. B.  He thinks it’s so funny that I say “fixin’ to”.  Well, I am!!!  I’m “fixin’ to” go to the store.  We were  “fixin’ to” get married.  I’m “fixin’ to” …it makes no sense to him.  Well, it does to me.  Some people would “I’m getting ready to…”?   I suppose it has to do with where I grew up.  That’s my only explanation.

Now, do you want to hear something funny?

 

 

 

 

I caught him saying “fixin’ to” the other day. 

See, good things do rub off on those close to you.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kyle
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 09:02:55

    Im “fixin” to tell our mother we were “Green Acres” thats hilarious!

Leave a Reply

SassyCondiments

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
