If You Could Be 16 Again

Sometimes I hear people say

“I just wish I could be 16 again”.

So after hearing this one too many times, I decided one day to sit myself down and have a long talk with me.

What if I could be 16 again.  What would I change?  Would I react differently to the puppy love?  What classes would I have taken for electives in high school?   Would they be the same?   Would I try to change how nervous I got before an audition?  Would I share my blue suede platform saddle Oxford’s with one of my brothers?  Would I do it all over again?

Then I decided maybe I needed to take a different approach to this question.  I pondered on this for some time.  Finally I realized I need to back up.  Well, I do have a habit of running ahead of myself.  Maybe that would be a good idea.  How far should I back up?

Then it dawned on me. 

I do not want to be 16 again! 

Not ever! 

Never! 

No way! 

Not in a million years! 

16 was fun!  I loved being 16.  I had my driver’s license, a car to use, my music and my friends.  Now herein lies the problem.  If I were to be 16 again, I would have to live through all the mistakes that have gotten me to where I am today.  If I had chosen a different path, my life would not be what it is today.  The entirety of my life has not been a mistake but believe me, I have made my share of them, and then a few.  But if I had changed one little detail, my life would be different. 

If I could be 16….no, I love who I am and I cherish all the little things, the enormous accomplishments and all the mediocre ones in the middle.  They made me who I am today. 

Reflecting, I would not change a thing.

For Sunday’s Question:

If you could be 16 again…

would you?

Leave a Reply

SassyCondiments

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
