No Catsup…

Last night I was really in the mood for french fries.  I had the potatoes.  I found some cooking oil.  My knives were recovered two days ago.  It was all set.  FRENCH FRIES with dinner! 

Then there was the search for the catsup in S-O-M-E box that is probably hidden in the basement.  Call  me a kid, but I must have catsup with my french fries. 

With a can of tomato paste on hand and many of my spices, catsup, it will be!  You know, they say necessity is the mother of invention.  There I go again, playing in the kitchen.  It was a good excuse to come up with a recipe.  It turned out so well, Mr. B says phoeey on Heinz or Del Monte.  So guess who will be making catsup from now on.  Actually, it is very quick and simple.

Here is what I came up with.  It started out as someone elses recipe but again, there was tweaking.

Quick Delicious Catsup

1 (12 oz.) can tomato paste

1/4 c. water

1/4 c. light brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. dry mustard

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. cloves

2 T. Red Wine Vinegar

Mix and refrigerate.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sassycondiments
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 21:37:53

    Just a note: Today I made the Catsup again, this time leaving out the cinnamon. Personally, we like this better.

Leave a Reply

SassyCondiments

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
